TROY, N.Y. – Ninety-nine Union College student-athletes were recognized for academic success this year by earning spots on the Liberty League Spring All-Academic Teams, the conference announced on Thursday.
The Liberty League’s spring championship sports include baseball, men’s and women’s golf, men’s and women’s lacrosse, men’s and women’s rowing, softball, men’s and women’s tennis, and men’s and women’s track and field. To be recognized as a member of the All-Academic team, a student-athlete must be a sophomore or higher in class standing, have one year of residency at the school, and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.30, mirroring the criteria for CoSIDA Academic All-America awards.

The 99 honorees are just two short of the record 101 honorees last season and, when combined with the record 93 athletes recognized in the fall and the 28 honored in the winter, bring the total number of student-athletes honored by the Liberty League this year to 220, far surpassing last year’s 201 honorees for the most ever in a single year at Union.

More than 56 percent (56 of 99) of Union’s honorees are repeat selections to the All-Academic Team, while nearly 25 percent (23 of 99) were selected for the usual maximum third straight season and two – men’s lacrosse seniors Matthew Georgiades and Ryan Puglisi – was honored for the fourth time after all athletes received an extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19. The nationally ranked men’s lacrosse team led all spring sports with 19 selections, followed by the men’s track & field team with 12. 

All of Union’s 2022 Spring All-Academic Team honorees are listed below:

Men’s Lacrosse
Clayton Arcuri, So.
Sam Brosnan, So.

**Sam Byrne, Sr.
Zach DiMuccio, So.

**Jack Donahue, Sr.

***Matthew Georgiades, Sr.

*Clint Gourdeau, Jr.
Justin Greene, So.

*Cole Hartman, Jr.

*Gray Humphrey, Jr.
Peter Kip, So.

*Seth Lindsey, Jr.
Jake Mabardy, So.

**Kieran McGovern, Sr.
Liam McGovern, So.
Matthew Paolatto, So.

***Ryan Puglisi, Sr.
Jack Thompson, So.

*Jake Titus, Jr.

Men’s Track

**Andrew Burns, Sr.

*Ronan Coughlin, Jr.

**Phil Facey, Sr.

**Andrew Fox, Sr.

*Anhad Gande, Jr.

*Thomas Knoff, Jr.
Joey Korongy, So.

*Nick O’Toole, Jr.
William Raeter, So.
Ian Spoor, Jr.
Ben Tichner, So.
Chris Tsouvalas, So.

Women’s Crew

**Sophia Anderson, Sr.

**Serina Beebe, Sr.

**Kelci Gilot, Sr.
Sally Harper, So.

*Alexis Henrikson, Jr.

*Kiley Kirkpatrick, Jr.
Katherine Riley, So.
Jane Scherck, Jr.
Ella Tycz, So.

**Katarina Zahedi, Sr.

Women’s Track
Alix Barry, So.

**Madelyn Cagnassola, Sr.
Sophie Chesnut, So.

*Steph Heiberger, Sr.

*Denesha Lafontant, Jr.
Allison Malatesta, So.
Kasey McGerald, So.

**Lindsey Podlaski, Sr.
Caroline Stanton, So.

**Anna Trancozo, Sr.


*Matt Beazoglou, Jr.

*Dan Choate, Jr.

*Jack Davis, Jr.

**Jack DiNanno, Sr.

*Jason Goldblum, Jr.
Kobe Mentzer, So.
Kyle Patlove, So.
Anthony Ruzzo, So.
Noah Schott, So.
Deven Smith, So.


**Julia Boule, Sr.

*Amanda Granato, Jr.

*Tara Hartnett, Jr.
Samantha Long, So.

**Rochelle Nuqui, Sr.

**Lindsey Podlaski, Sr.
Karson Saunders, Jr.

*Olivia Valery, Jr.

*Anna Zdunczyk, Jr.

Men’s Crew
Cole Abdinoor, So.

*Miles Ackerman, Jr.

*Leo Gagliardi, Jr.
Tony Griffin, So.
Ryan Hayes, Jr.
Talha Mushtaq, Jr.

*Christopher Ringer, Jr.

*Benjamin Weiss, Jr.

Men’s Tennis

**Jack Andre, Sr.
Ioannis Binopoulos, Sr.
Ryan Dagan, Jr.

**Cameron Klepper, Sr.
Bailey McAtee, So.

*Aidan O’Brien, Jr.
Khai Ton, So.

Women’s Lacrosse

*Elena Gerrato, Jr.

**Grace Heiting, Sr.
Dana Nelson, So.

**Grace O’Hara, Sr.

**Ali Sommers, Sr.

*Dana Truini, Jr.
Nicole Turpin, So.

Women’s Tennis
Kate Hirnak, So.

*Hallie Katzman, Jr.

*Rayna Katzman, Jr.
Gracie Nicol, So.
Lichuan Xiong, Jr.

Women’s Golf

*Kiara Beckham, Sr.

**Ashley Harding, Sr.

*** Four-time All-Academic selection

** Three-time All-Academic selection

* Two-time All-Academic selection


Source link

99 Spring Student-Athletes Earn All-Academic Honors

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.